In 1928, the Greek Government recognized the American School of Classical Studies at Athens as the permanent American archaeological presence in Greece. As such, the School is the official link between American archaeologists and classicists and the Greek Archaeological Service of the Ministry of Culture. Broadly responsible for all American excavations in the country, the School obtains, assigns, and supervises the permits (granted by the Ministry of Culture) for excavations, surveys, and synergasia (cooperative projects).
In 1896, the School opened excavations in Corinth, which carry on to this day as one of the oldest continuous American digs anywhere. The School’s second major excavation, opened in 1931 and also ongoing, is in the Agora, the political and commercial center of ancient Athens. Today, both of these excavations yield invaluable research material for School Members, staff, and other scholars, as well as opportunities for students of archaeology to gain hands-on experience in excavation techniques.
To display finds from its own excavations and also to provide research and conservation facilities, the School built the Corinth Museum in 1931, housing part of the dig study center, and in 1956 reconstructed the second-century B.C. Stoa of Attalos in Athens, which houses the Agora Museum and research center.