• Reopening of the Library
  • From the Field We are proud to announce that during the months of August, September and October 2017, the research collections of the Gennadius Library were tagged with RFID security tags and the books, including the periodicals of the “Dory Papastratou Reading Room,” were moved to new mobile shelving in the new Ioannis Makriyannis Wing, which will be officially inaugurated in June 2018.
  • Read More
  • Search the Library Catalog

Upcoming Events

image a painting

“Con que soavità... Με πόση γλυκύτητα”

October 31, 2017 20.30

ASCSA, Cotsen Hall, 9 Anapiron Polemou, 106 76 Athens


Presented by

The Gennadius Library


Vocal Ensemble Canto Secreto

210-72.10.536 (ext. 101)

To watch the concert live, click here or click the image bellow.

On the occasion of the 450th anniversary of the birth of Claudio Monteverdi, the musical ensemble Canto Secreto will perform music from Italy of the 17th century.

The vocal ensemble Canto Secreto specializes in the vocal music of the 17t and 18th century and consists of Maira Milolidaki and Natassa Anghelopoulou sopranos, Effi Minakoulis mezzo soprano-renaissance lute-theorbo, and Katerina Ktona cembalo.

In the program entitled Con che Soavità they indulge in the sweet harmonies produced by three female voices in the works of 17th century Italian composers. They explore the Musica Secreta in the court of Alfonso d’ Este, and the vocal compositions of the talented female composers of the time Francesca Caccini and Barbara Strozzi. The program includes works written for one two and three female voices by Luzzascho Luzzaschi, Claudio Monteverdi, Salamone Rossi, Sigismondo d’India, Girolamo Frescobaldi, Luigi Rossi and Girolamo Kapsberger.


Con che soavità
T’ amo mia vita                                                                       Luzzascho Luzzaschi
Madrigali per cantare e sonare a 1-3 soprani, 1601

Venite, venite                                                                           Claudio Monteverdi
SV 335, 1624
Toccata prima                                                                        Girolamo Frescobaldi
Toccate e partite d'intavolatura, Libro 2, 1627
O primavera, gioventù del’ anno                                         Sigismondo d’ India
Le Musiche, πρώτο βιβλίο, 1609
Dolcissimo sospiro                                                               Giulio Caccini
Le Nuove Musiche, Φλωρεντία, 1601
Se l’aura spira                                                                        Girolamo Frescobaldi
Primo libro d’arie musicali per cantarsi, Φλωρεντία, 1630

Su, su, su pastorelli vezzosi                                                Claudio Monteverdi
9 Libro dei madrigali, canti guerrieri e amorosi, marigali e canzonette
a due e tre voci, Βενετία 1638

Toccata Arpeggiata                                                                J. H. Kapsberger
Il Primo Libro d’ Intavolatura di Liuto, 1604
Che fai tu                                                                                 J. H. Kapsberger
Primo libro de villanelle con tablature di chitarrone, 1610
Che si puo fare                                                                      Barbara Strozzi
Arie a voce sola, op. 8, 1644
Che amor sia nudo                                                               Francesca Caccini
Il primo libro delle Musiche, 1618

Le Tre Grazie a Venere                                                         Barbara Strozzi
Il primo libro dei madrigali a due tre e quattro voci, Βενετία 1644

Folia                                                                                         Bernardo Storace
Selva di varie compositioni d’intavolatura
per cimbalo ed organo (Βενετία, 1664)
Ohime, dove’l mio bene                                                       Claudio Monteverdi
7 Libro dei Madrigali, Βενετία 1619
Si dolce  è il tormento                                                           Claudio Monteverdi
Scherzi Musicali
Ohime ch’ io cado                                                                 Claudio Monteverdi
Quarto Scherzo delle ariose vaghezze, 1624
Come dolce hoggi l’auretta (3.50’)                                    Claudio Monteverdi
9 book Marigali e canzonette a due e tre voci, Βενετία 1638

Dormite begl’ occhi                                                               Luigi Rossi
L’Orfeo, 1647

To watch the concert live, click here.