Kostas Varnalis Papers


Collection Number: GR GL KV 072
Name(s) of Creator(s): Kostas Varnalis (1884-1974)
Title: Kostas Varnalis Papers
Date [bulk]: 1910-1974
Date [inclusive]:
Language(s): Greek
Summary: The papers consist of manuscripts (poems, prose, essays, translations, notebooks), articles in newspapers and journals, correspondence, photographs, printed material of interest to Varnalis, newspaper clippings, and publications on Varnalis and his work. The gift also included a large number of books, all of which belonged to Varnalis’ personal book collection.
Quantity:  ca 10 linear meters
Immediate Source of Acquisition: Gift of Eugenia Varnali, 2001
Information about Access: The papers are catalogued and available for research. The catalogue has been published by Theano Michaelidou in The New Griffon 2010
Cite as: American School of Classical Studies at Athens, Gennadius Library Archives, Kostas Varnalis Papers (Αμερικανική Σχολή Κλασικών Σπουδών στην Αθήνα, Γεννάδειος Βιβλιοθήκη, Αρχείο Κώστα Βάρναλη).

For more information, please contact the Archives:
The American School of Classical Studies at Athens
54 Souidias Street, Athens 106 76, Greece
phone: 213 000 2400 (ext. 425)
Contact via E-mail


Kostas Varnalis (1884-1974), poet, prose writer and critic, was born in Pyrgos, Eastern Rumelia (now Burgas, Bulgaria). He studied classics at the University of Athens and spent his most creative years as a writer in France.  Along with his contemporaries N. Kazantzakis and A. Sikelianos, Varnalis bridges the Generation of Palamas with the Generation of the Thirties. His papers are an invaluable resource for the study of the Inter-war years, a crucial period for modern Greek history and literature. The ingenious deconstruction of ancient Greek tradition combined with the humanistic ideals of social freedom and justice make Varnalis an exceptional and revolutionary literary figure. His most famous works include The Burning Light (1922), Slaves Besieged (1927), The True Apology of Socrates (1931) and the important critical study Solomos without metaphysics (1925). He was awarded the Lenin prize for peace in 1959.


See the catalogue by Theano Michaelidou in The New Griffon 2010